Madison Half Marathon Race Preview

I am really looking forward to running the Madison Half Marathon.  It was my very first half marathon back in 2010.  This event used to have a full marathon as well, but this year the organizers decided to move the full marathon to November.  Several times in the last few years, the weather has been extremely warm and they have had to cancel the full marathon.

This year, they have added a Twilight 10K on the Saturday night before the half marathon.  Tim is going to run that event.  It should be a lot of fun.  And I’m looking forward to spectating for him for a change.  That almost never happens!

We decided to get a hotel for the weekend.  Our anniversary was the beginning of May and because I’ve been so stressed out with school, we were only able to enjoy a very brief evening together.  This weekend should be a good time, away from the kids (thanks grandpa!).

I’m hoping that the weather is going to be as perfect as advertised for the day. 

It really doesn’t get any better than that.  (note to self-pack sunscreen)

Goals for the race:

C Goal: Run faster than Ketchup and Mustard.

I ran this event in 2010 and these guys beat me.  They would stop and ham it up with the crowd and I would get ahead of them, then a mile or so later they would pass me again.  This went on all day.  I couldn’t believe I got beat by guys in costume!

B Goal: Run strong up the last hill. 

When I ran this race the first time, I cursed that hill.  I was so exhausted by that point that I ended up walking at the end of the race when I felt like I should be finishing strong.

A Goal:  Sub-2:05.  I did that at Journey’s when I wasn’t feeling all that well.  I think it should be doable on this course.  If I’m feeling really good, I might try to keep that 2:00 pace group in my sights.  (maybe)

I’m hoping for a fun, relaxing weekend with Tim.  We are well overdue for a fun weekend together!

Leave a Reply

