Bellin 10K Race Preview

I love this event!  This is the 4th year I’ll be doing it.  It is also the 4th year Jaden will be doing the kids’ run.  (Check out the recaps from 2012, 2011, and 2010)  Since I’ve done this race so many times, I feel like I have a good handle on what to expect.  The course is pretty flat and starts out with a 2+ mile straight-away before looping back to finish at the same spot. 

The kids’ race is Friday evening during packet pick up.  Friday is also Jaden’s last day of 1st grade!  They have an early release day so I’ll be picking him up from school and we’ll head over to Green Bay from there.  All the activities take place at Astor Park and it is a great place for the kids to play before their race. 

This race draws a big crowd…usually around 18,000 runners/walkers.  And it can draw some pretty big names too.  This year’s field includes Frank Shorter, Bill Rodgers, Joan Samuelson, Bruce Bickford, Ed Eyestone, Joseph Kimani, Uta Pippig and Tegla Loroupe.  I love that I can say I raced with Joan Samuelson! 

My goals for the race:

C Goal: Sub 9:00 miles.  If I can do this for a half marathon, I should be able to do it for a 10K!  55:49 or better.

B Goal:  54:22.  That is 8:45/mile.  I should be able to do that if everything goes right with the weather and my GI tract.  That would make it my 2nd fastest 10K.

A Goal: PR. Current PR at the 10K is 53:22 (8:35/mile) that I set at last year’s Jamison Kampmeyer Memorial Run.  In the interest of stretching my goal-setting, I’m really not sure that I will reach this goal.  But, I’m going to put it out there and I’m going to give it everything I’ve got!

Of course, the weather has the potential to affect the day (as it has all spring/winter).

Last year, I was worried about the weather being too warm.  The forecasted high was in the 90’s with high humidity.  Not going to have to worry about that this year.

Maybe the weather will be warm in July??

Leave a Reply

