Weekend off

I’m not racing this weekend.  I feel a bit adrift!  Just kidding.  Smile  Actually, I have a family reunion on Saturday, so I intentionally left the day open.  I almost decided to run a local 5K anyway, but I didn’t figure that I could run the race, shower and still get to the reunion in time for lunch.  Not unless I can suddenly run a 17 minute 5K! 

So, instead of racing this weekend, I’m going to get up early and go for a nice, long run.  It has been a while since I’ve had a long training run.  Like…April.  Every long run since then has involved a timing chip and a bib. 

I’m hoping that my dad can come to the house and hang out with the kids.  That way I could do about 15 miles.  If not, I’ll have to settle for about 10. 

The plan is to be on the road between 5:15-5:30 a.m.  Tim has to leave for work by 7:15, so I either need to be back by then, or grandpa needs to be there.

I would love to get a 15 mile training run in.  It has been so long since I’ve done a long run, I would like to see what the extra mileage feels like.  The last time I ran anything over a half marathon was in October of last year when I ran my marathon in Milwaukee.  Of course, I will then be completely wiped out for the rest of the day and I’ll probably end up spending the entire family reunion sitting around and eating.  (Although, that sounds pretty awesome!)

Leave a Reply

