Worst run ever

I need to complain for a minute.

Yesterday I had a 15 miler on the calendar.  Actually, I had a 6 miler on the calendar, but I had decided earlier in the week, that I wanted to do a long run, since I haven’t done anything more than a half marathon all year.  And, since I had the time before having to go to a family reunion, I thought it would be a good day for it.

I was doomed from the beginning.

I didn’t get enough sleep the night before.

I was tired.

My legs felt really heavy.

I had GI problems from the start.

I ended up with a blister.

I couldn’t get my pace anywhere close to where I wanted it.

I was so glad to finish this run.  I so badly wanted to just cross this run off my list and forget about it.  It was uncomfortable…actually, it was miserable. 

Ok, whining done.

The reality is, I finished it.  There is a mental victory in pushing through the tough times and actually gutting it out.  And that is what I did.

And, I then I went to my family reunion with my dad and the boys.  And we had the best time.

But, I still have a blister.

2 thoughts on “Worst run ever

  1. Pingback: July Month in Review | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

