Hub Cities Duathlon Race Preview

Duathlon number two in the Central Wisconsin Triple Crown is quickly approaching.  I have been on my bike exactly one time since the Woodson YMCA Duathlon last month.  I’m not sure Tim has been on his bike at all since then.  We are obviously taking this very seriously!

This will be the third year in a row I have done the Hub Cities Duathlon.  Pretty impressive since it is the third year the event has existed.  The course starts/ends/transitions at UW-Marshfield.  They actually have a pretty nice transition area set up in the parking lot.  The first run course goes through the residential area surrounding campus.  The bike course goes on a large loop through the country.  The second run course goes through a small wooded section before finishing along the road to the parking lot.

The course consists of a 2 mile run, 14 mile bike and another 2 mile run.  Last year, I was able to finish the course in 1:25:49.

I think the plan for this year is to bring the boys-and grandma!  My mom is going to come down with us and hang out with the boys while Tim and I tackle the duathlon course.  After the race, there are free shower facilities available and then we are planning on checking out some of the Hub Cities festivities.  I don’t really know what types of things they have, or if there is anything that the boys will like, but it sounds like a nice way to spend the rest of the morning.  We may grab a bite to eat somewhere and then (hopefully) be home by nap time.

I think Tim’s goal is pretty much to finish the race feeling good.  When he did the Woodson YMCA duathlon last month, he struggled and didn’t feel all that great at the end. 

I have a couple goals for the race:

C Goal: Sub 1:30.  This is what I feel pretty confident I can accomplish (barring any difficulties on the bike).

B Goal: Below 1:25.  I would like to beat my time from last year.  I know I am a stronger runner than I was a year ago, I just don’t know if I am going to be able to go fast enough on the bike.

A Goal: Below 1:20.  This is reaching for the stars.  I don’t know if I’m capable of biking fast enough to take that much time off last year’s race.  But, I’ll put the goal out there.

The weather at the end of July is usually quite warm for this race.  The event starts at 9:00 and the last couple years the weather has been warming up by that point in the morning.  The last couple days have been pretty cool for the middle of summer.  And race day looks to be pretty much the same.

Relatively cool, but humid and a bit breezy.  The bike course is a big square so we should have one section of the wind working against us and one section of the wind working with us.  As long as it doesn’t rain, I think I can handle the wind.  I just get really nervous if I have to try to bike in the rain.  I’m always afraid I’ll fall.

Leave a Reply

