Electric Run ‘Race’ Preview

This Saturday evening Tim and I are participating in the Electric Run in Madison.  This isn’t really a race, as much as it is a 5K event. The website describes it as:

Along the 5k route music will pump and lights will dance creating a electric wonderland that will keep you energized and moving to the beat. You’ll run, walk, and dance through distinct lands with lights and music custom mixed to match the mood of the lighting elements.

The event starts at 8:45 on Saturday evening.  Tim took the day off on Saturday, so we will be able to have a leisurely morning with the boys.  My mom is going to stay with them for the rest of Saturday and Sunday.  We are planning on heading to Madison after lunch.  We are going to stay at my aunt’s house and she has graciously offered to pick up our packets for us on Friday afternoon.  The race charges a fee for race day packet pickup.

So, we’ll get to my aunt’s house and she has planned to make dinner for us.  I know…you can all be jealous of my amazing family.  I think she may also have found us a free/cheaper place to park during the event. 

The biggest challenge for this event is deciding what to wear!  It is basically a big party.  Party smile  The website encourages people to wear things that glow or blink or otherwise draw attention to themselves.  I had thought about giving my tutu a spray of glow in the dark paint, but I decided against it.  I think I will, instead, make a trip to the dollar store and pick up a couple glow bracelets and the like.  Our packets will include an LED bracelet, glow necklaces and glow sunglasses. 

This is totally not the type of event I would typically go for.  But, when Tim brought it up, it sounded like a fun way to spend an evening.  Kinda like a date night!  In running shoes.  And we need more of those.

I was hoping that we would have a really mild evening weather-wise, and hopefully the weather will cooperate.  It doesn’t look too bad…

Since this isn’t a ‘race,’ the only goal is to have a good time.  And, since we aren’t ‘racing’ we should have time to take a few pictures!

And, if we aren’t too worn out at the end of our long week, maybe we can even stay and enjoy some of the post-race festivities.

Who else is racing this weekend?  Have you ever done an event like this?

Leave a Reply

