Run, Bike, Unite Race Preview

This is the third race in the Central Wisconsin Duathlon Triple Crown.  Tim and I participated in the first two legs of the Triple Crown, the Woodson YMCA Duathlon and the Hub Cities Duathlon

This course consists of a 2.2 mile run, 14.5 mile bike and 2.3 mile run.  If everything is the same as it was two years ago when I did this race, the transition area is on the bottom level of the parking garage.  It makes for a great transition set up, other than the fact that it is at the top of a hill.  So, you have to run up that hill into the first transition and bike up that hill into the second transition.

I don’t remember much about the course, other than that the second run course goes through the Schmeeckle Reserve on a very nice trail.  I’m not a trail runner.  I hope I don’t trip and fall.

I have a feeling that this might be Tim’s last duathlon ever.  He just hasn’t enjoyed it as much as I have.  No worries.  It has been fun to do these events this summer.  And, it got us motivated to finally get his bike fixed, so that is a good thing.  I’m hoping that maybe I can convince him to continue to do the Hub Cities Duathlon with me every year.  It is the most local of the three and has the latest starting time (meaning that we get to sleep in a little later and not be as rushed in the morning).

I had hoped that I would be able to place in the overall Triple Crown standings, but I see that there are 4 women ahead of me and at least 3 of them have already signed up for this event.  So it is (highly) unlikely that I will work my way into the top three.  That being said, I am hoping to improve on my finishing time from the first time I did this event.

The race starts at 8:30 a.m. and we have a little more than an hour to drive to get to Stevens Point.  The plan is to have the bikes loaded up Friday night so that we don’t have to worry about that in the morning.  My mom is taking both boys to Iowa to see my sister for the weekend, so we don’t have to worry about them in the morning, either.  I’m hoping that we can be on the road before 6:30.  It will take a while to park, set up our transition area, pick up our race packets and use the bathroom before the mandatory meeting at 8:15.

C Goal: Better than my time from two years ago. 1:31:25.  I should be able to do this.  I know I am a faster runner than I was two years ago.

B Goal: To bust my butt on the bike section.  I want work as hard on the bike as I do on the run.  I want to see exactly what it is my body is capable of.  The best case scenario would be to complete the bike course with an average pace of 18 mph.  I typically ride around 15 mph, so that would be a stretch for me.

A Goal: 1:25.  That would be a huge improvement over my previous time on this course.  If I remember correctly, the bike course is pretty flat.  In order to reach this goal, I would need to run 8:00/mile on the run sections and hit my average of 18 mph on the bike. I know I can hit those run times (my last duathlon I ran ~7:32/mi), but the bike is going to be a real challenge.

Since it is Wisconsin, and since the weather this summer has been all over the place, I’m sure Mother Nature will do her best to throw me off my game on race day.

This actually looks pretty good.  It is going to be a warm one by the time we are done, and if there aren’t any clouds, it might feel much warmer.  But, the second run course is mostly shaded, so that will help.

What are your plans for the weekend?

Leave a Reply

