La Crosse Maple Leaf Half Marathon Race Preview

This is the second time this year I have done two half marathons in 6 days.  I don’t know if that makes me hard core or insane. 

The Maple Leaf Run will be this Saturday.  I had never heard of this race before this year.  I found it when I was searching for inexpensive races in locations where I have a free place to stay.  Laughing out loud

My plan is to drive down to La Crosse after my class on Friday afternoon.  I’ll stop by the YMCA to pick up my race packet and then head to Onalaska to spend the night at my aunt and uncle’s house.

The race starts at 7:00 at Riverside Park.  It is an out and back course that runs along the water and through some local parks.  Because it is Octoberfest weekend, the course organizers shortened the cutoff to 2:45 so that the course could be cleared for the Octoberfest parade.  This isn’t an issue for me, but there are quite a few half marathoners who routinely finish in 2 1/2 to 3 hours, and I think there may be some backlash because of this last minute change.  Last year, the last official finisher came in at 3:04.

I couldn’t find a decent map of the course on the website, but the organizers did send me turn-by-turn directions when I emailed them.  (I had a couple issues come up when I emailed the organizers and they were always very prompt with a reply.)  The elevation profile doesn’t look too daunting.  La Crosse isn’t known for being flat!

This race had just shy of 600 finishers last year.  There is also a 5 mile race, a 5K run/walk and a kids’ race.

The weather is going to much warmer than last weekend!  And that makes me really happy.  The only problem is going to be the wind.  And if it is coming from the south, that means we’ll be running into the wind the last half of the race.

Considering I just ran the Fox Cities half marathon less than a week ago, I’ll keep my goals pretty modest.

C Goal:  Run comfortably.  Keep relatively even splits (depending on how windy it is). 

B Goal:  2:05.  that is what I ran in the second half marathon the last time I had two halfs in 6 days.  I think I can do it again

A Goal:  Sub two.  The only time this year when I had two sub-two half marathons in a row, was when I had a month between races.  I’m wondering if I can do it on such a short amount of rest. 

2 thoughts on “La Crosse Maple Leaf Half Marathon Race Preview

Leave a Reply

