Hewitt Pumpkin Run Race Preview

I’ve run this local 5K for the past 4 or 5 years.  It is a fundraiser for the Hewitt Fire Department.  I even set a then-PR on this course last year.  Jaden has come along each time and participated in the kids’ run.  He loves it! 

This year, Jaden is going to be taking on his first ever 5K.  He will be 8 years old at the end of December, and he decided that he was ready for a 5K.  I’ve been encouraging him to take this step for the better part of a year, but I knew it had to be his decision. 

Admittedly, he is under trained.  I had grand hopes of getting him conditioned for this race, but life got in the way.  I don’t think I had realized before what a busy kid he is (and the rest of the family has a lot going on, too).  It seems that most evenings we are going somewhere or doing something.  He did get a few runs in with Tim…one of them even extending to the actual 5K distance, but there was a lot of walking, too.

Regardless, I’m sure he’ll do fine.  He keeps changing his mind on how he wants to tackle the race.  The other day, he said he was going to run for 5 minutes and walk for 2 minutes.  Yesterday, when I talked to him, he said he was going run for 10 minutes!  Either way, I’ll be right there with him, encouraging him all the way.

My only goal for this race is to make sure Jaden gets across the finish line with a smile on his face!  I don’t care if it takes us an hour.  I really want him to enjoy himself and see that running can be fun.  I would love for him to be a lifelong runner.

The weather is going to be…typical for November in Wisconsin.  Hopefully, Jaden won’t be too cold.

The race starts at 9:00 and I’m hoping that any and all precipitation is done by then.  I’m hoping that my mom is going to come along to hang out with Logan.  There is a church at the start/finish line, so she can wait inside where it is warm. 

I’ll be back next week with what I hope is a very successful race report!!

Who else is racing this weekend?

Leave a Reply

