Thirteen 13.1 in 2013

What a year! 

Oshkosh Half Marathon 4/21/13

Pine Line Half Marathon 4/27/13

Journey’s Half Marathon 5/11/13

Madison Half Marathon 5/26/13

Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon 6/22/13

Red, White and Boom Half Marathon 7/4/13

Chippewa Falls Pure Water Days Half Marathon 8/10/13

Madison Mini Marathon 8/17/13

Just Run Half Marathon 8/31/13

Fox Cities Half Marathon 9/22/13

La Crosse YMCA Maple Leaf Half Marathon 9/28/13

Honky Tonk Half Marathon 10/20/13

Haunted Hustle Half Marathon 10/27/13

Fastest: Garry Bjorklund 1:52:48

Slowest: Honky Tonk-with Tim  (Without Tim-Pine Line 2:05:34-which, before this year, would have been a PR by almost 6 minutes.)

Best crowd support: Madison Half Marathon

Least crowd support: Pine Line

Best Shirt: Garry Bjorkland  (Honorable Mention: Pine Line-Hooded Sweatshirt)

Worst Shirt:  Oshkosh

Warmest weather: Madison Mini

Coldest Weather: Journey’s.  It snowed.  In May.

What I think is most interesting about this chart, is that five of the races I ran, had more finishers than people who live in my town!  Okay, maybe that isn’t the most interesting thing.  Smile

Honestly, when I started the year, my goal was to run the Oshkosh half marathon under two hours.  When I finished that race, I seriously thought that I would never run that fast again.  I figured it would be a one-and-done deal.  I didn’t think I would be able to work that hard again.  I didn’t think my body would be capable of it.  So, when I ran a 2:05 and a 2:03 for my next two races, I felt pretty good about that. 

Then I started thinking if I would be able to run another sub-2:00.  Then it happened.  And it happened again.  I had to change my thinking regarding what my body was capable of.  I am now a sub-2:00 half marathoner.  And if I can do that, what else am I capable of? 

I don’t know if I have the answer to that question yet, but it certainly gives me something to think about as I start to contemplate my goals for 2014!

3 thoughts on “Thirteen 13.1 in 2013

  1. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

