Noodleini Race Preview

I love running Noodleini.  I have run it many times in the past few years (2012, 2010.  One year, I even won a trophy!

This year, I am going to do the 15K and Tim is going to run the 5K with Jaden.  Jaden is excited for his second 5K (in a month!).

We always look forward to this race for many reasons.  First, I love that we get to stay at my cousin’s house.  They are the coolest people ever and our kids love hanging out.  Second…the title sponsor for the race is Noodles and Company!  I love noodles.  There is mac and cheese after the race and a coupon for a free bowl of noodles.  And…as if that weren’t enough, they also give you a turkey shaped block of cheese!  Best race swag ever.

image

I am having a hard time remembering the 15K course from last year.  I may have been too preoccupied with the fact that it was freezing!  I remember one spot where we had to run across a small ditch or something.  Other than that, I have no idea. 

Unfortunately, the weather is looking to be really cold again.

image

Why can’t Wisconsin have fall?  I feel like winter comes earlier every year.  Fall seems to last for about 17 minutes and then it is freezing!  I guess I’ll be bundling up again for this race.  As long as it isn’t too windy, it shouldn’t be too bad.  I’ll just have to remember my sunglasses.  If the sun is reflecting off the snow, I’ll certainly want my shades.

Because of the weather, I am going to forgo trying to fuel during the race.  I should be able to run 9.3 miles without having to take mid-race food.  I plan on eating something for breakfast and then I’ll have something about 15 minutes before the race starts.  I’ve never done this before, but I don’t think that I would be able to open any type of food package with mittens on anyway.

I do have a couple goals for the race.

C Goal:  Don’t freeze.  Don’t slip on the ice and fall (it has happened to me at this race before).  Have fun.  Finish in under 1:40. 

B Goal  Faster than 1:32:55.  This is what I ran last year.  Since it is my only previous 15K, it stands as my current PR.

A Goal:  My completely out-there-everything-goes-right goal, would be to finish in 1:25.  We’ll see.  I think I have the fitness, I just don’t know if I can pull it off in really cold weather.

I’m excited about my goals, but I’m really looking forward to just getting to the end of my race and finding out how Jaden did.  I hope he has a good time.  It is so much fun seeing him excited about running.

One thought on “Noodleini Race Preview

  1. Hope it went well for you this morning, Heather. Not eating for a mere 15K should be easy for you and the colder weather often acts as a motivator to keep moving. Hope you stayed vertical, as well!

Leave a Reply

