Technology Fail

I suck at technology.  My husband would tell you that this is an understatement.  I don’t know how to figure things out on my computer (or my phone).  It is bad.  I don’t have any clue how to get the photos that are on my phone into the photo software we use on our computer.  To be completely honest, I don’t even know the name of the computer software on our computer.

I’ve had two laptops die on me this year.  This is a huge problem because I’m a full time student and I need a computer for school work.  Last year I was using an old laptop and so Tim decided to upgrade me when I started school.  He found a good deal on a refurbished laptop online and I was thrilled.  Apparently, ‘refurbished’ is code for ‘will only last 9 months.’  It took a hard crash in March.  I lost almost everything that was on it.  Actually, that’s not true.  I lost absolutely everything that was on it.  Cue panic attack.

So, we dug the old one out of the basement and Tim tried to install some updates so that I could use it again.  A few weeks ago, it decided that it was no longer going to charge.  It hadn’t been holding a charge very well for quite a while.  I couldn’t ever really use it if it wasn’t plugged in.  The battery life was approximately 7 minutes.  But then one day, I noticed that it was plugged in and it wasn’t charging.  I quickly saved everything to SkyDrive and emailed myself some of the files I was actively working on.  Then I shut the computer off and begged and pleaded with Tim to fix it.  No such luck.

Cue CyberMonday deals on Amazon.  Tim found a decent deal on a laptop and we dug into our (quickly vanishing) savings account.  Now I have a laptop that will hopefully survive for a few years.  I don’t even do anything complex on my computer.  I use the internet and some Microsoft Office functions.  I don’t use it for gaming or…see, I don’t even know what else computers get used for.

Anyway, I say all of this because I am so proud of myself for figuring out how to download LiveWriter to the new computer.  I know, most of you would probably be able to do that in your sleep.  But for me, this is a big deal.  I am really that computer illiterate.  But, now I have it and I can blog again.  Because I know your lives were missing something without my mostly incoherent ramblings!

So there’s that!  Have a wonderful day and I’ll be back in a day or two with a training update.  Bet you can’t wait!!

2 thoughts on “Technology Fail

  1. If it makes you fee any better I’m even more computer illiterate as I don’t even know what LiveWriter is. ha ha Hope this computer lasts longer!

Leave a Reply

