Off season week one

I have survived the first week of my off season.  I ran 5 days and did the elliptical once.  I took one full rest day.  To a lot of people, that may not seem like I’m taking a break.  But, there were no tempo runs, no intervals, no long runs.  Basically, nothing with any intensity. 

What have a learned so far?  I’m not very good at slowing down.  If you know me, you are probably responding with a loud “DUH!”  Open-mouthed smile

So, while my body might be getting a break during this off season, my mind is going crazy.  In all honesty, I think it is just going to take a little while to settle down.  This week’s schedule calls for 4 days running, two days on the elliptical and one day off.  My dad will be coming into town on Thursday for a couple weeks, so hopefully hanging out with him ( and all the busyness of Christmas) will keep my mind occupied.

I do have to be more careful about what I’m putting in my mouth.  I can’t eat like I’m in the middle of an intense training plan.  But, oh, there is so much good stuff to eat!!

I think the off season will be easier for me to handle in January.  I have a very busy January ahead of me.  I will be completing a clinical rotation for school, so I’ll be at the hospital super early in the mornings.  There is no way I’ll be able to run before I go, so I’ll have to take advantage of some late afternoon/evening workout times.  Being really busy will make it easier to accept that I need to take it easy in other areas.  At least, that is what I keep telling myself.  We’ll see what happens when the time comes.

I’m really proud of myself for getting through this first week without obsessively tweaking my half marathon training plan for the spring!!  I’ll wait a few more weeks before I take a look at it again.  But, knowing that it is there, waiting for me on the other side of this off season, gives me great joy!

I know that many of you are still training for some big races.  Please, let me know what they are so that I can live vicariously through you! 

Also, how do you make the elliptical less boring?  I am not having much fun on that thing.  And this is coming from a girl who LOVES her treadmill!

2 thoughts on “Off season week one

Leave a Reply

