2013 Year in Review

This year was pretty busy.  We seemed to always have something going on.  We had a lot of fun.  I had a few goals that I had set for myself in 2013.  I’m happy to say that I was able to achieve a lot of my goals this year.  Here’s a recap…

Running goals…

I set a goal to run 13 half marathons this year.  I was thrilled to accomplish that goal.  This was a huge goal for me and it took some work logistically to get all thirteen races.  I broke down the different races in this post.

My other big running goal was to break 2:00 in a half marathon.  I picked the Oshkosh Half Marathon as my ‘A’ race.  I trained from January through April and was able to reach my goal. 

Does anyone else ever experience anything like this?  You think that something is impossible.  Then you finally succeed at it and suddenly it isn’t so impossible anymore.  I never thought I would be able to run a sub-2:00 half marathon.  Then I did it.  And then I did it six more times.  Success is mental.

A recap of some of my running numbers:

I ran 312 days.  My average weekly mileage was 30.2 (highest was 44 in July).  My average monthly mileage was 131 (highest mileage was July with 167).  My longest run of the year was 15 miles.  I ran 28 races.

Other goals…

My next goal was to be able to hold a plank for 5 minutes.  This one didn’t go as well.  I made it to about 3:45, but I lost my motivation.  I was also hoping to incorporate squats and other strength work.  None of those things interest me as much as running, so I am not as inclined to follow through.  Toward the end of the year, I did complete a 30 day squats/abs challenge.  Because it was only 30 days, it was a little easier to complete it.  I’d like to say that I will do that same challenge a few more times in the coming year, but we’ll see how my motivation holds out.

My school goals weren’t as measurable.  I was able to continue to get good grades as I progress through the nursing program.  I am still planning to graduate in May 2014.  I am trying not to get too stressed out, but there were some things that caused me some anxiety.  I’m really trying to stay focused on the goal and know that the end is in sight (until I start grad school!).

Tim and I were able to get away for a couple short trips without the kids.  The trips coincided with some races that we were doing.  It was nice to get away, just the two of us.  We need to do some more of that.

How did you do on your 2013 goals?

Leave a Reply

