Off Season Week 6

My last week of Off Season has finally arrived!!!

I fully intended on following the plan exactly this week.  The plan called for 4 days of running, 2 days on the elliptical, and 1 day off.  Well….life happens and plans sometimes get shuffled around.

I did my easy runs on Sunday and Monday.  Tuesday was supposed to be an elliptical day, but after the stress of driving home from my clinical in super slippery, near white out conditions (seriously-I lost count of how many cars I saw in the ditch and I never went over 40mph), I needed to run.  The elliptical just wasn’t going to cut it.

So, I switched my elliptical day to Wednesday.  I did that at the gym after my clinical at the hospital.  I dislike the elliptical machines at the gym just as much as I dislike the one in my basement.

Thursday was my rest day.  I had clinical all day and after three days in a row of waking up at 0400 and making that long drive (in less than stellar road conditions) I was content to take a break.  And go to bed early.

Friday was supposed to be another elliptical day, but after Thursday’s rest day and doing the elliptical on Wednesday, I really wanted to run, even if it was just an easy four miles.  So…once again, I only got on the elliptical once during the week.  I should have known.  I’ve been pretty consistent at NOT getting on the elliptical twice a week.

Saturday was my ‘long’ run day.  I got in another 7.4 miles in about 70 minutes.  I am looking forward to an even longer 90 minute run next Saturday.  Tomorrow starts my training for the Oshkosh Half Marathon on April 13th.

What are your spring goal races?

Leave a Reply

