Half marathon training week one

My first official week of training for the Oshkosh half marathon is in the books.  Honestly, it wasn’t that bad. 

Sunday: 3 miles easy + strength.  I rarely do strength work, but I did some crunches and push ups before the run and some upper body and lunges after the run. 

Monday: Hill x 6.  This sucked.  I never run hills.  I ran quarter mile inclines on the treadmill ranging from 3.0-5.0 with quarter mile recoveries. 

Tuesday: Rest day.

Wednesday: 40 minute tempo run.  Happy.

Thursday:  4 miles easy + Abs.  Did some crunches and planks before and after.

Friday: 4 miles easy.

Saturday: 90 minutes 3/1.  Ran the first 3/4 at an easy pace and the final 1/4 at goal half marathon race pace.  Felt great to get a ‘real’ long run in.  I managed 10 miles in just over 90 minutes.

The beauty of my off season is that it has made me appreciate this training plan.  I’m looking forward to next week…Intervals return!

One thought on “Half marathon training week one

  1. Yes, good to have the plan working. I like the 3/1 plan. I’m doing that in the icebreaker in the morning. An easy first 20 miles, the push the final 10K. We’ll see! Stay warm over this next child snap!!!!

Leave a Reply

