Oshkosh Half Marathon Training Week 4 (the wheels have fallen off)

I feel like my training has been falling apart lately.  I’ve had to cut runs short, skip runs, move things around and deal with aches and pains.  Oh, and there was the whole problem of my treadmill dying.  I’m glad it is still relatively early in the training plan, or I would probably be freaking out more than I am!  I am still freaking out a little.  I need to be able to run…it’s my stress reliever.

Sunday: Schedule called for 3 miles easy + strength.  I hopped on the treadmill at the gym and realized within the first 20 seconds, that I wasn’t going to be able to run.  I had a lot of pain in my right hip.  It wasn’t the same as the piriformis pain had had the week before; this more more of a joint pain.  I got off the treadmill and did a little bit of strength work and about 10 minutes on the stationary bike.  But I was just depressed that I couldn’t run.

Monday: Schedule called for 8×400 at 5K pace.  I overslept by about 45 minutes and had to shorten the workout to 6×400.  I’m glad I was able to do something, but as the day went on, my hip started hurting more and more.

Tuesday:  Plan said 4 miles easy + Abs. I tried to run.  I got on the treadmill and took a few hesitant steps and quickly realized that running wasn’t a good idea.  So, I headed for the bike.  I decided I would just spend the same amount of time on the bike that it would have taken me to run 4 miles easy.  Ended up with 12.1 miles on the bike.  It’s not the same.  😦

I also went in to see my chiropractor on Tuesday afternoon to have her work on my hip.  I went in early so that that other doc in the office could jab his thumb into the length of my IT band.  Not my favorite part of the day.  He also showed me a couple stretches.  Then came the adjustment.  Things hurt.  Biofreeze.  Ice packs.  And I was told not to run on Wednesday.

Wednesday:  My clinical for school was switched from PMs to AMs.  This is fantastic!  The night shift was not good for the family, but it means that my workouts get moved to the afternoons.  Less than fantastic.  I love working out in the morning.  Sets the tone for the day.  Plan called for a 40 minute tempo run.  Tempo runs are my favorite…unless I’m injured and I’ve been told not to run.  So, instead of a wonderful tempo run, I rode the stationary bike for 20 minutes.  I had time for more, but I didn’t want to push my luck with my hip.

Thursday: Scheduled rest day.

Friday: Schedule called for 3 miles easy.  Instead I did 20 minutes on the bike and about 15 minutes of arm/shoulder strength work.  Then I went back to the chiropractor to let them beat me up again.  Things hurt.

Saturday:  This was supposed to be my long run day.  I was looking forward to a relaxing 90 minute run.  No luck.  Still having too much hip pain.  So, back on the bike.  This time I managed to make it for 30 minutes.  Why is it that I can go 90 minutes on the treadmill with no problem, but 30 minutes on the stationary bike makes me insane?

I will see my chiropractor again on Wednesday of next week.  I’m hoping that I can try to run at some point next week.  The bike is making me batty!

Leave a Reply

