Half Marathon Training Week 7

Sunday: 35 minutes on the bike.  Then a bit of upper body weights.

Monday: 36 minutes on the bike.

Tuesday: 35 minutes on the bike.  Then I had my first physical therapy appointment that afternoon.  I spent an hour getting an evaluation and having her dig into my piriformis, glutes and psoas muscles.  (If you’re not sure where your psoas muscle is, just google it and you’ll see exactly how much fun I was having.  Ouch!)  She gave me some exercises to do and some stretches to work on. 

Wednesday: 25 minutes on the bike.  I had a shortened amount of time, so I tried to ride faster.  That evening I did my PT stretches and exercises.

Thursday: Scheduled rest day.  Got a massage.  This was not a relaxing massage.  This was another person who wanted to dig her thumbs into my sore muscles until I wanted to cry.  Good times.

Friday: 35  minutes on the bike and some upper body strength work.  I had a chiropractor appointment in the morning.  I got adjusted and she went easy on the hip.  Then in the afternoon I went back to PT.  This time she did some ultrasound on the glute/piriformis area and we reviewed the exercises and stretches.  I did my exercises before bed.

Saturday:  46 minutes on the bike.  My psoas muscle is sore this morning.  It isn’t a muscle that usually gets sore.  It almost feels like abdominal cramps. 

I am trying to do everything I can to help this injury heal.  I’ll keep going to the chiropractor and the physical therapist.  I’ll keep doing my stretches and exercises.  I’ll refrain from running and keep riding the bike…even though my bright, shiny, new treadmill is downstairs feeling all neglected.  (I need a name for my bright, shiny, new treadmill.)

I have decided to downgrade to the 5K for the race I was planning the end of the month.  I was really looking forward to running the half marathon with a friend, but I just don’t think it would be a good idea.  So, I’ll do the 5K with my 8 year old.  It will be awesome!  He is already planning how we can cross the finish line holding hands.  That will be much better than running a half marathon in pain.

I’m going to hold off for another week or two before I make a decision regarding the Oshkosh half marathon in April.  I was really hoping to run a half marathon PR on my birthday.  I’ve pretty much given up on that ever happening, but I would still like to actually run a half marathon that day.  We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

