Training plan

I think I am no longer training for a half marathon PR.  I may not be training for a half marathon at all.  At this point, I am training for recovery.  I am training to be able to train for a full marathon this fall.  I hope that the combination of chiropractic and physical therapy will get me back running sooner, rather than later.  I am diligently doing my PT exercises.  I am very motivated to kick this injury to the curb. 

Sunday: 35 minutes on the bike.

Monday: 35 minutes on the bike and some upper body strength work.

Tuesday: 40 minutes on the bike.  Physical therapy in the afternoon.  She did another session of ultrasound and we talked about ways to modify some of the stretches to avoid hurting my knee.

Wednesday: 30 minutes on the bike.

Thursday: Scheduled rest day.

Friday: 40 minutes on the bike and some upper body strength work.  In the morning, I went to see my chiropractor.  She did an adjustment and worked a little bit on the hip/IT band/hip flexor area.  Then, in the afternoon, I went back to PT.  This time she applied an iotophoresis patch and did some massage on my IT band.

Iontophoresis is a topical application of an anti-inflammatory agent to treat inflammation.  It works by using a low voltage electrical current to direct ions into the tissue.  It is a patch that is applied directly to the skin, so there aren’t any systemic side effects that you would normally see when taking oral anti-inflammatory medications.  Since I have a sensitive GI system to begin with, I am a big fan of getting the benefits without those typical side effects.

 Source

We also talked about the benefit of using electric stimulation.  I already have a TENS unit that I got several years ago after a car accident.  My therapist gave me some new electrodes and we discussed the best placement to get the greatest benefit.  We also talked about how long to leave them on.  Pain relief can be experienced after about 15 minutes.  But by leaving it on for an hour, there is also a release of endorphins.  I have been sorely missing out on some endorphins lately!  I can use it 3 or 4 times a day for an hour each time. 

Saturday:  50 minutes on the bike.  My longest ride ever on the stationary bike.  I didn’t pull my hair out, so maybe I’ll shoot for an hour next week.

I’ve been pretty diligent about doing my PT exercises and stretches.  I am nothing, if not motivated!  But, I’m not noticing much progress.  It still hurts.  I still can’t run.  I’m getting discouraged.  And, to add insult to injury, the weather is slowly starting to improve and I’m seeing all sorts of people running outside. 

Leave a Reply

