Continued training

Sunday: 37 minutes on the bike plus some upper body strength work.

Monday 35 minutes on the bike.

Tuesday: 42 minutes on the bike.  PT in the afternoon.  I got another iontophoresis patch and she worked on my IT band.

Wednesday: 43 minutes on the bike…but at a slower pace than I’ve been doing recently.  And not because I was intentionally going slower.  I just couldn’t seem to get my legs moving.  Ii finished with some strength work.  Then I had to brush the snow off my car to get home.  I’m SO sick of this winter!

Thursday: 45 minutes on the bike.

Friday: 36 minutes on the bike and a little bit of strength work.  I went to see my chiropractor in the morning.  She dug her thumb into my hip flexors.  I laughed because it help me not scream.  I had PT in the afternoon.  It was back to the ultrasound to try to work out a little bit of soreness.  She also worked on my IT band and put on another iontophoresis patch.

Saturday:  The goal was an hour on the stationary bike.   And…I made it.  The first half hour, I thought I was going to lose my mind.  Then I got into a good podcast and I ended up losing track of time a little bit.  I knew I was getting close to the end, but I thought I had a few minutes left.  (I cover the display with a towel so I don’t have to watch the numbers crawl by.)  Then I heard the bike beep and the pedal resistance went way down.  I lifted up the towel and saw that I was done.  All in all, it wasn’t too bad and I may try it again next week.

Next week I am going to try to get on the treadmill and just walk.  It will be hard, mentally, to not run.  But, at least I can play with some of the new bells and whistles.

I am going to run next weekend.  My son, Jaden, and I are doing a 5K on Saturday.  I was supposed to do the accompanying half marathon, but my plans were derailed when I got injured.  I’m hoping that I can get Jaden to run it at a slow, steady pace; rather than his usual sprint/walk pattern.  The kid needs to work on his pacing. 

Does anyone else have any races coming up?

2 thoughts on “Continued training

  1. I can do an hour on the stationary bike easier than on the treadmill, but only because I find it easier to read. Good job keeping fit while waiting for your injury to heal.

    Hope your race goes well!

Leave a Reply

