Day off

I woke up this morning at 4:45 to get ready to go to the gym.  I noticed that my lower back was a little more sore than normal.  I got dressed and got my stuff together and got in the car.  Then I decided that it wasn’t worth it to work out if my back was that sore.  So, I headed back to bed.  Of course, once I was awake, I couldn’t fall back to sleep.

So, instead of sleeping, I spent the next hour lamenting how much I hate this injury.  This is the longest I have gone without running-other than that one time I pushed another human being out of my body.  I am cranky, I am depressed, I am frustrated.

I’m trying really hard to keep myself focused on getting better.  I’m doing my exercises and stretches.  I’m taking it easy with the biking.  But, I am at the point where I just want to cry. 

I have had to give up on two half marathons I wanted to run this spring and I’m starting to lose hope that I will be able to train at the intensity I want to for the full marathons I have lined up this fall.

(And I completely understand that there are bigger issues in the world than me not being able to run.)

I’m afraid that if things don’t start getting better I’m going to be told to stop biking.  That would mean no cardio exercise at all.  I don’t have access to a pool that is open during the times I could use it.  I wish I did.  I think swimming would be good for me. 

Instead I will just hope and pray and keep doing my exercises in the hopes that things will miraculously get better soon.

Thanks for letting me vent.  Sad smile

One thought on “Day off

  1. Pingback: The one where I try to run | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

