Let’s throw everything at it and see what sticks

The pain in my hip has been getting worse.  It has been waking me up at night and I’ve had to start taking ibuprofen to get through the day and to help me to fall asleep at night.

Friday I went and saw my physical therapist.  We talked about the pain I’m having and how nothing is helping.  She and her student did some more evaluations to see (again) what types of movements elicit pain.  The only way I could describe it was that there was bone pain though the iliac crest.  It is a type of pain that doesn’t respond to any of the stretches or exercises.  The muscle pain is different and usually feels better after some deep tissue massage…at least for a short time.

We discussed some treatment options to help manage the pain.  What we decided to try for this week is an SI belt.  Basically, we discovered that, because of the hypermobility of my joints, having a bit of compression around my hips to hold things in place made me a little bit more comfortable.

It is almost like a pregnancy band.  It sits on my hips and holds things in place.  It isn’t the most comfortable thing in the world to wear.  It is a little itchy and I have to readjust it every once in a while.  I don’t know if it is the perfect solution, but we are going to try it for a week and see if it helps with the pain. 

The other part of the treatment plan is even less encouraging. I have been prescribed NO activity.  Obviously, I haven’t been running or using the elliptical.  Now, biking is also out of the picture.  This is a huge deal.  I don’t know how I’m going to deal with not having any outlet for my stress.

I will go back to physical therapy in a week with the hopes that things are finally getting better instead of continually getting worse.  If things are still progressing in the wrong direction, the next step will be non-weight bearing.  That means crutches.  I don’t want to go there.  I don’t think I could guarantee the safety of those who have to live with me.

After my physical therapy appointment, I went to see my chiropractor.  She had been talking with a colleague about my condition.  She decided to work a little differently in the way she adjusted me.  I’ll be going back the middle of next week to see if there has been any improvement.

After that appointment, I had to go take a test for school.  The test went fine, but sitting at the computer for 40 minutes or so caused me a lot of discomfort.  I am usually okay sitting if I can get up or stretch every few minutes. 

Then I had a massage scheduled for later that afternoon.  But, before I went to the massage, I stopped at the gym and handed in my key card.  Sad smile  I didn’t want to keep it and be tempted.  I knew that if I felt good in a couple days, I would probably have decided that I could go to the gym ‘just for a little while.’

Anyway, I went to my massage and the lady there spent a good amount of time working on my psoas and iliacus muscles.  She dug her fingers in there and really worked on them.  She commented that she had never felt such a tight iliacus muscle in anyone before.  I feel special.  I iced it when I got home. 

Part of the plan for the week is to have Tim help me stretch that muscle.  I can’t really do it myself because you have to make sure that your leg muscles and your abdominal muscles aren’t engaged. 

I want to do everything possible to get back to running as soon as I can.  If I knew that being non-weight bearing for a week or two weeks or a month, would solve the problem and get me running again, I would do it in a heart beat!  The problem is that no one has any idea what the problem is, so no one has any idea how to treat it.  we are just throwing darts right now and hoping that we hit something.

In the meantime, I’m depressed and frustrated and angry.  I’m going to have to be super careful with my diet so that I don’t end up gaining weight.  I am about 5 or 6 pounds above where I was when I had to stop running.  I certainly don’t need to put myself in a position where it will be even harder for me once I am able to work out again.

In an effort to not go completely batty during this down time (and to keep from eating all. the. food.), I have decided that anyone who has a goal race or wants to run their first 5K or 10K or half or full marathon will have my full support.  I will work to put together training plans and offer any encouragement I can.  Just let me know what your goals are.  I’d be more than happy to help.  And once I can run again, I’ll be right there with you!!

Leave a Reply

