May Month in Review

It has been several months since I have been able to run.  I wasn’t able to bike at all in May either.  If I add up all the swimming I started to do in the last week or so, it would probably equal about a mile and a half. 

To say I’m depressed that I can’t run would be an understatement.  I am really trying to stay positive, but that is proving to be quite challenging.  I am looking forward to this opportunity to learn how to swim.  I’ve been saying for the past year that I wanted to learn to swim so that I could do a triathlon.  The injury has forced me to invest the time into learning that I probably wouldn’t have done otherwise.

It has also given me the chance to volunteer.  Which is what I did last Saturday at a local race.  I worked the food station; getting there early to portion out pretzels into individual bags.  Then I cheered on several of my friends who were participating in the event.  Although, I’ll be honest, when the starting gun went off for the 10 mile race, I had to fight back tears. 

I have my next doctor’s appointment, with the pain management doctor, on June 10th.  I am hoping for a cortisone injection or some other type of pain relief.  My fear is that I may have to have surgery. 

The longer I progress without any relief, the less likely it is that I will be able to run the marathons I have planned for the fall.  I am still helping Tim train for his first marathon.  I am holding on to a shred of hope that I will be able to run it with him. 

Upcoming Races:  In the meantime, Jaden has another 5K this coming weekend.  He is going to run a local race, which means that he will have run triple the number of races that either Tim or I have run. 

I don’t look that happy when I’m swimming.

Here’s hoping June is a better month.  How was your May?

Leave a Reply

