Swimming update

Swimming is exhausting.  And I’m not very good at it.  But, I am getting better.  Or at least I think I’m getting better.

When I look back to my first time in the pool, when I could barely make it from one end to the other without hyperventilating, I can certainly see improvement.

I am trying to get in the water three days a week.  Most times that means that I get up at 4:45 in the morning to get to the pool for the 5:30 lap swim.  At 5:30 in the morning, the pool is populated with rather serious swimmers….and me. 

I am lucky enough to have a friend who is a much better swimmer than me.  She gives me pointers and writes some workouts for me, so that I don’t just end up floundering in the water for 45 minutes.  I have been pretty consistent with the distance of my workouts-anywhere from 1200-1600 yards.  I do some with fins and some with a kickboard.  I have drills to do that help me work on positioning in the water.

I have to say that I have gotten a little more comfortable in the water over the last couple of weeks.  I don’t feel like I’m going to aspirate the entire pool and drown.  I still have my moments of anxiety when I end up with water in my mouth when I turn to breathe, but I am trying to stay calm and just deal with it.

I can do about 100 yards (2 laps) without having to come to a complete stop.  But, I’m tanked after that and it takes me a couple minutes to recover.  I like having the workouts lined up for me.  That way I don’t really have to remember how many laps I’ve done, I just follow the workout and it is all added up for me.

I bought a pair of fins so that I don’t have to depend on what they have available at the pool.  I was never able to find ones that fit me and I ended up with blisters on my feet from fins that were too small.

Trying to swim fast is pretty much a disaster.  My form takes a nosedive and I look like I’m drowning.  Smile  Sometimes, I get a cramp in my foot and I look like an injured animal trying to make it to the edge of the pool.  I’m actually surprised that no one has tried to save me during my workouts!

The unfortunate thing is that I don’t get anywhere close to the same endorphins from swimming as I did from running.  That is depressing. I’ve had a couple of friends message me in the last few days with words that were intended to be kind and encouraging.  And they would be, if I wasn’t in such a negative emotional space.  I am constantly reminding myself that every nice word isn’t meant to be patronizing and that these people I call my friends truly are nice people who actually care about my well being—physically and mentally.  How’s that for a peek behind the veil?  I’ll save you from the dust bunnies in the corner for now.

Leave a Reply

