Recovery update

It has been about a week and a half since my radiofrequency ablation.  I had hoped that I would be able to work my way into the half-a-mile-every-other-day running schedule that the doctor is allowing me.  Unfortunately, I am still having pain.  It isn’t the same pain, but it is pain none-the-less. 

Actually, there are two different kinds of pain I’m currently dealing with.  The first is back pain.  It isn’t as intense as it was before the RFA, but I still have pain with bending and twisting.  It is still a challenge to unload the dishwasher and fold the laundry and make the kids’ beds (I usually have Tim do that last one.)  This is the pain that leaves me exhausted at the end of the day.  It is the pain that makes me question whether I will ever experience a pain-free day ever again.

The other pain is completely new since the RFA.  It is kinda hard to explain.  There is a spot just to the right of my tailbone that feels like it has been rubbed raw.  I know that this is something to do with the nerve damage from the RFA.  There is nothing on my skin.  It isn’t red.  Nothing has been rubbing against it.  It looks completely normal.  But it feels very irritated.  Imagine the worst chafing you have ever experienced.  Think of how it feels when the skin is that sensitive.  Think of how it feels when your clothing rubs up against chafed skin.  Think of the pain you feel when you first take a shower and the water hits that area.  That is what this spot feels like.  It is terrible!  My underwear rubs against it.  It is super-sensitive to the touch.  I don’t know if this is a temporary side effect of the procedure, but I am really hoping that I don’t have to deal with it much longer.

In running-related news, I tried a little bit of running on my walk today.  It has been a week and a half since I ran my first half mile.  I haven’t been doing any running because of the continued pain.  This morning, when I went for my walk, I sprinkled in 5 short running segments.  The first four were one block and the last one was two blocks.  There is still pain when I run.  But it is hard for me to differentiate between the irritation-type pain from the nerve and the deeper back/hip pain. 

I didn’t feel any worse after the run, so I think I’ll give it another shot on Saturday.  Maybe I’ll even try another half mile.  I want to be able to get a good read on exactly how everything is feeling.

Mentally and emotionally, I am still struggling.  I had put so much hope into this procedure and I had really hoped that I would be feeling so much better than I am.  I desperately want to get back to living a normal life.  One without pain.  With running.  And more smiling.  And less despair.  That’s not too much to ask, is it?

2 thoughts on “Recovery update

Leave a Reply

