Job update and physical therapy

I had my first physical therapy appointment today.  More accurately, I had my first post-ablation therapy appointment today.  The therapy order from my doctor indicates that I will be working on core strength.  I know that this is exactly what I need.  I haven’t been able to do any core work for the past couple of months because of the back pain.

The therapist I worked with today (who I have worked with in the past) did an evaluation and talked about how I’ve been doing since I last saw her at the end of April.  She measure my range of of motion.  We talked about what types of movements typically cause my pain.  We talked about how ‘flabby’ my core feels and I told her that I am looking forward to getting a little bit more stability in that area.

And, since she is really big on working toward her patient’s goals, we discussed some short-term and long-term goals.  I told her that most of the goals I had for myself this year aren’t going to happen.  I already missed my two half marathons in the spring.  I won’t be able to run either of the two fall marathons I registered for.  I don’t like giving up on my goals.  But, since I had to stop and think about it, I told her that my short term goal was to be able to do my normal, everyday tasks without pain.  Those things that everyone else takes for granted–folding laundry, emptying the dishwasher, making the beds, playing with the kids—I would like to be able to do those things.  As for my long term goals…well, I want to run.  I would love to be able to do a spring marathon.  But, since I am currently running approximately a mile and a half a week, that seems pretty close to unattainable.

After the evaluation, we went through a few core strengthening exercises.  They are all isometric, nothing that requires me to flex my back.  And we are starting slowly.  Just a couple exercises with only a few repetitions each day.  I wish there was a magic button I could push to make this work faster, but there isn’t.  I have to approach this as rehab.  If I try to do it all at once, I will end up hurting myself more.  My therapist kept reminding me that I will actually get more benefit if I do these exercises slowly.  I have to consciously try not to be my super-competitive self.  I have to relax.  She also suggested yoga, but probably not until this winter.  It is still too early.  I need the back to get better and I need to get some of my core strength back.

I will see her again on Thursday and then one day next week.  I am hoping to get in twice a week.  Until then, I have the exercises I can do at home.  Every once and a while, we will reevaluate to see where I am and we can add to, or change up the exercises so that I continue to see the benefit.  Slow and steady.

On the job front…..

I hadn’t heard anything yesterday from HR at the hospital, so my plan was to call them this afternoon.  Instead, they called me right after lunch.  It was a different HR lady who called.  She wanted to let me know that they had sent out orientation letters stating that the next class was on Monday and Tuesday of next week.  Of course, Monday is Labor Day, so she wanted to let me know that the class was actually Tuesday and Wednesday. 

I asked her if this meant I was supposed to come to the orientation, since I was still waiting to hear if Employee Health was going to clear me to start working.  She transferred me to the lady I have been working with.  This lady apologized for not getting back to me sooner and for the confusion that this phone call must have caused.  She is still working with Employee Health to see if they can work within my restrictions.  She said that they wanted to make sure they made the right decision for everyone involved and that they didn’t want to make a decision and have to change it a couple days later.

I reiterated to her that my restrictions were TEMPORARY and that I anticipated making a full recovery.  She assured me that she would remind Employee Health of that fact.  In the meantime, I am just in a holding pattern.  She promised to get back to me by the end of the week.  My gut instinct is that they are not going to let me start.  I believe I am going to lose this job and there is nothing I can do about it.  The worst part is that I turned down a different job to take this one.  I feel like I’m being punished because I got greedy and put all my effort into getting the job I really wanted instead of taking what was offered to me.  And now I might not get anything.

I’m going to need wine and chocolate.  Oh, and a job.

3 thoughts on “Job update and physical therapy

  1. Pingback: August Month in Review | (G)O'Donnell

  2. It’s easy to go ahead of yourself, Heather, and “assume” the job won’t happen…as a guy who has done a lot of hiring, there is soooooo much else that goes on, do your best to try to “not go there”. You are doing the right things…keep it up, all the way from your daily core exercises to your mind exercises.

    You will land well!!! Persevere!!

Leave a Reply

