September month in review

September was a rough month for exercise.  I started my new job (which I still say is going to be great.  Right now it is like drinking from a fire hose.).  The change in my schedule has required me to get creative with fitting in my workouts.  Last week, I discovered that I can walk a loop around the hospital on my lunch break and get in a quick mile.  That saves me some time in the evenings when I want to get a walk in.

My swimming has become virtually nonexistent.  I have to be to work by 7:00 a.m., which means that I can’t get to the pool in the mornings anymore.  Sad smile  The pool in town is open on Wednesday evenings and starting in a couple weeks, the pool in the next town over will be open one afternoon a week.  I’m hoping that means I will be able to get in the pool once a week.

At my last follow up appointment for my back, I was given the OK to run up to a mile at a time, at a slow pace, every other day.  This means that I was able to run 10 miles in September.  That is more than twice what I ran in August.  Progress, but my dailymile chart is still pretty depressing.

(That 3 miles in March is from a very ill-advised 5K I ran with my son.)

I managed about 69 miles of walking and I swam 8150 yards (just over four miles).

I have a feeling that the winter is going to put more of a damper on my workouts.  Once it gets really cold, I probably won’t be doing the 1 mile walk at lunch.

I have another injection scheduled for the 10th of October.  I am really hoping that this treatment offers some more pain relief and that my doctor will allow me to run a little bit more.  I am hoping to get the go ahead to run a 5K toward the end of the month.  Then there is the 5K the first weekend of November that Jaden and I wanted to do again.

One of the most depressing things I’m dealing with is that I am supposed to be running the Twin Cities Marathon this weekend.  Obviously, that isn’t going to happen.  And I hate it.  And I’m not going to be running the Madison Marathon in November either.  I know that there will be other races, but I had such high hopes for this year and I hate it when I don’t reach my goals.

October will keep me busy and I’m going to try to be grateful for any running that I get to do.  Focusing on my new job will help to keep my mind occupied.  But, it is prime marathon season and I have a lot of friends who are running.  I wish them all best and I hope that this time next year, I will be joining them.

Leave a Reply

