October month in review

Second month on the new job.  I am really enjoying it.  I even got to ‘solo’ my first cases.  Every day I am learning more and more and occasionally I don’t feel completely incompetent.  I won’t be through the orientation process until the end of February, but I’m sure it will be at least a year before I feel like I have a good handle on what is happening.

I have been consistently going for a walk during my lunch break.  The loop around the hospital campus is exactly a mile and if I book it, and can finish it in under 13 minutes.  That doesn’t leave much time for me to eat (I only get a 30 minute lunch break), but the fresh air and the movement helps me to clear my mind and keep me focused for the afternoon.  At some point it is probably going to get too cold to continue this tradition.  That will make me sad.

My running improved to 1.5 miles a day.  I still can’t go fast.  I have to take it easy…between a 10-11 minute per mile pace.  And I’m walking before and after my allotted running mileage.  It feels good to move, but it is killing me that I can’t start ‘training.’ 

All that being said, here are the totals for October.

Running: 32 miles.  That beats September’s total of only 10 miles.  Part of that was even at a race.  I ran/walked a local 5K with Tim and Jaden.  It was my slowest 5K ever (I think), but I got to chat with some friends and it was a lot of fun.

To put that in perspective, last October I ran 142 miles, including 2 half marathons.

Walking: 78 miles.  If I add those together, I put on over 100 miles for the month.  I guess I should focus on that, right?

Swimming: 3.38 miles.  I am swimming on Wednesday afternoons after work.  The pool at the high school is open for an hour on Wednesdays.  I change into my swimsuit before I leave the hospital and I try to get close to 2000 yards before they kick me out.  The biggest problem is that there are a ton of kids playing in the pool and they don’t care that I am trying to get a workout in.

As for the injury…well, I had a completely ineffective steroid injection on October 10th.  I had hoped for a positive result, but no luck.  Much like every other treatment option we have tried.  At the follow up appointment, we decided to try one last-ditch treatment—a caudal epidural.  That will happen next week.  She also told me that I can slowly continue to increase my running mileage. 

November will surely bring much colder weather-a challenge to my daily lunch time walk.  It also brings Tim’s first marathon—that I was supposed to run with him.  Instead I will bike around the course harassing him cheering him on as he tackles this huge accomplishment.  Then I’ll take him out for dinner and ice cream.  I’ll try not to be super depressed watching everyone else running when I can’t.

I’m really hoping that the epidural works.  Oh, and I am going to run one more 5K with my son in November.  The run/walk method isn’t my favorite, but the time I get to spend with him can’t be beat!

Tell me what you accomplished in October.  Let me live vicariously through your accomplishments.

One thought on “October month in review

Leave a Reply

