January month in review

January has been quite the month.  I started tae kwon do.  I’m still working on running without too much pain from my back injury.  And I’m desperately trying to avoid the seasonal depression that seems to grab me every year around this time.

Let’s start with the job.  I LOVE my job.  It is so awesome to have finally found a place where I love going to work every day.  (I don’t always love getting up at 4:45 to get there, but that is another story.)  I am learning a ton every day and I am only about three weeks away from finishing my orientation and being ‘on my own.’  Of course, they never really throw me to the wolves…there is always someone there to answer questions or help out.

On the exercise front, I’ve been mixing things up a bit.  I decided to join tae kwon do.  After two years of watching Jaden do this, the timing worked out so that I could join as well.

This is another way for me to stay active and not put quite as may miles on my injured back.

I have been running.  I put up a total of 78 running miles for the month.  That really surprised me, but the one mile I get on my lunch break everyday certainly started to add up.  I ended the month with a 5 mile run…my longest in about a year.  The 78 miles was the highest monthly total since last January. 

I added an additional 16 miles of walking.  The bummer is that I didn’t get in the pool at all during January.  My work schedule has me working late most Wednesdays, so the local high school open swim isn’t an option for me.  I do hope that once I finish my orientation at work, I will have some extra time to get in the pool.

This is typically the time of the year when I try to put together my race schedule for the year.  In a perfect world, I would be able to sign up for the Oshkosh half marathon in April.  I really like that race, but I just don’t think it is a smart idea to put my money there just yet.  There is a local 5K in April that I would like to do.  And I’m thinking about putting together a relay team for a local marathon this spring.

In the meantime, I’m just going to try to keep running (slowly) and hope that I can do it pain free.

Does anyone else think that January went by in the blink of an eye?  What’s on the docket for February?

One thought on “January month in review

Leave a Reply

