Injection #?

I went back to Bone and Joint yesterday for yet another caudal epidural.  When I went in last month for a follow up with the doctor, she told me that she could basically keep doing the injections, up to 6 times a year…maybe 7 times, since I don’t have diabetes.  Steroids can really mess with your blood sugar.

I don’t think that getting multiple injections a year is necessarily the best answer to the pain problem, but it is what I have available to me right now. 

Yesterday’s procedure when really well.  The entire process was the same as before.  But, the pre-op nurse did remind me that I should let the scheduler know that since I don’t take the valium, I can come in 30 minutes later for my arrival time.

I will say that this was the most effective use of lidocaine.  She did such a great job of numbing my tailbone that I didn’t feel anything for the rest of the procedure.  Once that local anesthesia wore off, I was a bit sore for the rest of the day. 

The other thing that I talked about with the doctor at my last appointment was the plan of getting a surgical consult with a spinal surgeon.  There is a pretty good spinal surgeon at Bone and Joint.  One who works at the hospital where I work.  Everyone has good things to say.  However, since Bone and Joint is not in my insurance network, I decided to go see a doctor at the Marshfield Clinic. 

I called last week to see if I could get an appointment, but they want the referral to come through my doctor at Bone and Joint.  So, I had to call back to the nurse who works with my case and ask her to get the ball rolling for me.  I swear, insurance is so annoying.  I am hoping to hear something back from someone in a week or two so I can schedule the appointment.

The weird thing about this whole process is that I don’t want surgery.  And my doctor doesn’t think I am a good surgical candidate.  But, she wants to make sure that we are pursuing all possible avenues.  So I guess I’ll be talking to a surgeon trying to convince him that he can’t operate on me.  In all seriousness, if there is a surgical procedure that will get rid of the pain, while still allowing me to do all the things I want to do, I would really consider it.

Today, I got on the treadmill for 6.5 miles.  That is the furthest I have run in over a year.  It felt pretty good.  I kept the pace slow.  While I am slowly building up my mileage, I haven’t gotten anywhere close to the pace I used to run.  I wish I could run faster, but beggars can’t be choosers, right? 

I am still tossing around the idea of running the Cellcom half marathon in May.  That race has always been one I have wanted to run.  Since I am definitely going to be running fewer events going forward, I am going to be a bit more selective when deciding on races. 

I am also planning on volunteering at the Oshkosh half and full marathon in April.  If I can make things work out with the rest of my schedule, I will be in the medical tent at the finish line.  Again, I would rather be running, but this is a great way to help out and still be involved.

Let me know if you are going to be at either of those races.  I would love to see you.

Leave a Reply

