Another injury (and training)update

This past Monday I ventured over to Bone and Joint for another epidural injection.  I believe this was my third one.  The process was the same as the others.  I went in the morning, because I had to work later in the day.  I know I’ve worked after previous injections, but could someone please remind me that it just isn’t a good idea.  While she is quite skilled at administering the local anesthetic, once it wears off, the rest of my day is quite uncomfortable.  I was fortunate that my colleagues picked up some of my slack for the rest of the day.

After the injection, we spoke briefly about my running.  I told her that I had registered for the Cellcom half marathon and that my training had me approaching double digits for my long runs.  She was on board with me running Cellcom.  But what she said next pretty much devastated me.  She said “nothing longer than a half marathon, right?” 

She was so casual and nonchalant about it.  She made it sound like this was something we had previously agreed on.  I was not aware that this was the agreement we had!  I didn’t know that I was never going to run another marathon.  I am still processing this new development.  Intellectually, I can understand why she is saying this.  But I just can’t bring myself to agree with her yet.

In happier news, I ran my longest run in almost 19 months on Friday morning. 

The 11.11 miles was in honor of our 11tth anniversary yesterday.  My husband is a bit of a numbers freak and I knew it would make him smile.  This is my first double digit run since my last half marathon in October of 2013.  I was a little anxious about how this run would go.  I did a 9.5 mile run two weeks ago and it was awful!  By stark contrast…this run was incredible.  I felt fantastic for the majority of it.  I won’t lie; the last mile hurt a bit.  Part of that might be because I was running faster than I’m ‘allowed.’  I am still supposed to keep my pace between 10-11 minute miles.  Even though I am undertrained, my pace still creeps up.  I feel most comfortable around 9:20-9:40, but I force myself to slow down.

The training run gave me some confidence a couple weeks out from Cellcom.  I am really looking forward to the race.  I am not sure how I will feel afterwards, but I hope that my body (i.e. my back injury) handles the experience well.  If that is the case, I may look into a fall half marathon.

What are you training for? 

Leave a Reply

