Chase’n Chocolate race recap

Last Saturday, Jaden and I ran another local 5K.  We ran the Chase’n Chocolate 5K that benefits a local domestic violence prevention organization.  The race was held at a park in Wausau and the turn out was pretty good.  The weather wasn’t quite as warm as I would like and Jaden and I both decided to keep our sweatshirts on during the race.

We scoped out the chocolate before the race.  It was good motivation.  Smile

Jaden’s goal was to beat his PR of 31:37 from last month.  He already knew that he was perfectly capable of running the entire race.  I knew that I was going to pace him to his goal, but I wanted to do more than just beat his goal, I wanted him to CRUSH IT!  I wanted him to know that he is capable of so much more than he thinks he is. 

We ran the first mile in 10:04.  That is a great pace for him.  Right at the beginning of the 2nd mile, there was a water stop where he stopped and walked while he drank.  (If you only walk the water stops, that still counts as running the whole race.)  Then he wanted to take his sweatshirt off.  I was lucky enough to get to carry it for him the rest of the race.  Winking smile  There was another water stop right at the end of mile two and he wanted more water.  We ran the second mile in 10:10.  Pretty awesome.

I wanted him to pick it up a little bit during the third mile.  I told him that I would let him know when we had less than half a mile to go.  It turned out that I didn’t really need to let him know.  He picked up the pace on his own during that last mile.  I could tell that he was working hard.  The best part of the day for me came during that third mile.  He was pushing himself and giving it all he had, and he looked up at me and said, “this is so much fun, right mom?”  It is hard to run fast with tears in your eyes.  He ran the third mile in 9:25.  That is the fastest mile he has ever run!

Once we turned the corner and he saw the finish chute, he took off.  I tried to stay just ahead of him to give him something to work toward, but once we got to the finish line I slowed down just enough to let him pass me. 

I realized that it won’t be long before he will beat me without me having to slow down!  He crossed the finish line in 30:05!!  I couldn’t even express how proud I was of him.  It was such a wonderful moment for him and I was honored to be there with him.

I think I embarrassed him with all the hugs and accolades.  (oh buddy, it is only the beginning)

After the race, we headed to the chocolate feast.  They had everything.  Chocolate covered strawberries (I might have had one or two (or 6) of them.), cookies, brownies, chocolate covered peanut butter rice crispie treats (awesome), candy bars, donuts, and everything in between.  It was awesome! 

In the corner of that picture, you can see that I also grabbed a banana.  I was trying to be good!

After the race, Jaden and I got to go to the Science and Technology fair at the local tech college.  This was an event put on by Michigan Tech and geared toward kids.  Jaden had a blast.  I think we went to every. single. exhibit.  We stayed for four hours and he would have stayed longer if I hadn’t  steered us to the exit.  He was completely enthralled by the different activities and it was awesome to see him enjoying something so much.  Especially science.

At the space exhibit

He stuck a wooden skewer through a balloon

Watching the beginning of the chemical reaction

continuing the chemical reaction

His ‘monster’ of a chemical reaction

This is what happens when you eat graham crackers that have been frozen in liquid nitrogen

Jaden in a bubble.  This was really cool.

Jaden running on water.  He would have done this all day if I had let him.

Vacuum sealed Jaden.

I really hope that this even comes back again.  Jaden would love to go…and I have to admit that I did have a pretty good time.  I loved spending the whole day with Jaden.

One thought on “Chase’n Chocolate race recap

  1. Pingback: May Month in Review | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

