Ready for Cellcom

The Cellcom marathon and half marathon has been a race I have wanted to do for years.  This year, the opportunity arose for me to register.  My friend, Jessica and I are going to head over to Green Bay on Saturday afternoon and we are both doing the half marathon on Sunday.

This is the first half marathon I have done since October of 2013.  So, even though it is half marathon number 17 (I think), I am having a little bit of anxiety about it.  My training was only ok.  I had a couple 9+ mile runs.  The first was awful, the second was pretty good.  My longest run was 11.11 miles (on the morning of my 11th anniversary), and that run went really well.  But, I have also had some 4-5 mile runs that have been really challenging.  I haven’t been able to do any speed work or intervals.  I am only able to run slow and easy.  And, I have to remember that the only reason I am able to run this race is because of the epidural injection I got a couple weeks ago.

The half marathon starts at 8:00 Sunday morning.  Jessica and I got a hotel room in Green Bay for Saturday night.  Right now, the biggest concern seems to be the weather.  It has been dreary and rainy for the last couple days and it appears that the same is in store for us on race morning. 

I don’t mind running in sprinkles, but constant, drenching rain; or thunderstorms, can make the race less than enjoyable. Note to self: pack a cap.

As soon as the race is over, we are going to hurry back home to see if Jessica can make it to her daughter’s dance recital.  It’s going to be a quick trip.

Now, even though I am not in top form, it would be completely out of character for me to go into a race without some goals. 

My first goal is just to finish the race with a smile on my face.  I know that I have said this before, but this time it is really true.  It has been a long time since I have run a half marathon.  I feel undertrained.  I worry about how far I can run before I experience pain.  I worry that my stomach will cramp up.  I just really want to have a good time…it has been so long since I have been able to do this.

My second goal, and my plan for race day is to finish around 2:15.  My plan to do this, is to run the first 6 miles or so with the 2:20 pace group.  I often go out too fast and running with the pace group will force me to slow down.  Maybe I can even get some pictures.  After mile 6, I will evaluate how I am feeling.  If I feel well, I can pick up the pace and run ahead of the pace group. 

I don’t think I should have a more ambitious goal than that.  This is going to be a test to see if my body can handle the distance.  If things go well, I may set my sights on a fall half marathon. 

So, if you are of the praying persuasion, I would appreciate prayers to safe travels and pain free running. 

Leave a Reply

