July month in review

Running: Only 48 miles in July.  Not a lot.  I’m trying to be okay with that.  It takes me up to 530 miles for the year.  My mileage is down.  I should focus on the fact that I am still able to run. 

Biking: 123 miles in July.  I really love my bike.  I’m not very fast, and my back injury keeps me from going more than about 2 hours.  I can only ride once or twice a week, but I just love it.  There is something so peaceful about riding through the countryside.  I wish I could do it more often.  235 miles for the year.

Swimming:  I only got in the pool three times in July.  I wish it was more, but the timing is difficult.  I just don’t have easy access to a pool.

Races:  I did 4 races in July.  I set a 5K PR without doing any speed work…and I paid for it for about a week.  I ran a 5K with Jaden, ran our local 5K, and competed in my favorite duathlon .

 

I wish I could say that I have an amazing August planned or that I was diligently training for a fall half marathon.  Unfortunately, none of those things are true.  I’m currently dealing with some significant back/hip pain that has me sidelined. 

I am going to do a water-based obstacle course with Jaden next weekend in Iowa when we visit my sister.  Other than that, I have nothing planned for the rest of the year.  I have some things I would like to do, but all of that will depend on my ability to get in to see a surgeon for a consult and the possibility of getting another injection.  I hope to get the pain under control, so I get back to running.  It certainly makes me happier.

Leave a Reply

