October Month in Review

I didn’t really have high hopes for October.  I have been dealing with this injury for a few months now, and it wasn’t showing any signs of letting up.  I’ve been going to physical therapy and doing my stretches and exercises.  I’ve noticed some relief from the ultrasound, but overall, the pain is still there and I can’t really run much at all.  I’ve been limiting myself to two miles (s l o w l y) about three days a week.  I would love to run more, but it just hurts too much at this point.

I had another injection to deal with the back pain on October 27th.  I’m now a week out from that, and my back feels great.  So, I guess I should be happy with that news.  I just wish that the piriformis issue would have responded as well.

I managed to run 37 miles in October.  Which vastly outnumbers the 7 miles I ran in September….so maybe I should focus on the progress, right?  We have been blessed with an unusually long stretch of lovely weather (in the mid 60s today) in Wisconsin and it seems that everyone is out enjoying it.  In fact, today would have been the perfect day for a long bike ride, but I don’t think that would be a good idea.  And, I have tried so hard not to be too jealous of all the runners I see enjoying this perfect running weather.  (It is like September in November.)

My physical therapist (who is so positive that I called her Pollyanna today) is giving me some additional stretches to work on lengthening and stretching the nerves along my back and legs.  And we will advance to some more strengthening moves at some point.  They are counterintuitive at this point, because anytime I try to work the glutes or hamstrings, my piriformis fires and I end up hurting.  Baby steps.  I’m thinking that I may schedule another massage in the near future.  That way I can have someone really work that area and try to make some progress.

I’m really hoping that I can run the local 5K with Jaden this weekend.  We have done the Hewitt Pumpkin Run for the last 4-ish years.  He really wants to do it again.  I just don’t know if I can make it for 3.1 miles.  And I know that if I take Jaden, Logan is going to want to do the kids run, which adds on another half mile or so for me.  The things we do for our kids, right?

I’m trying to stay positive, but it is proving challenging.  I really want to be able to do another half marathon this spring.  And of course, I just heard everyone’s wonderful stories from the NYC marathon.  (someday, I hope)  I’m heading into what is going to be a long winter and I don’t have access to my most effective stress reliever.  I hope to be able to move a little bit every day and avoid the seasonal depression that tends to creep up on me this time of year.  And, I’ll just keep doing my stretches and exercises and maybe things will improve.  I just have to keep hoping.  Maybe I can find an easy 5K in December.

Leave a Reply

