November month in review

November was a month of not many miles.  I did manage to run the Pumpkin Run with Jaden, as is our yearly tradition.  Unfortunately all of my running lately has been of the short distance, slow and mostly painful variety.  I did manage to rack up 45 miles in November.  That is more than October, so I guess we are moving in the right direction.

I am still doing my physical therapy stretches and exercises and I have a follow up with the doctor at Bone and Joint tomorrow.  We will see what, if anything, our next step will be.  My back still feels fine after the most recent injection, but we have to do something about the piriformis.  I’ve tried rest, ultrasound, massage, stretches, exercises and swearing like a sailor.  Nothing has worked.

I was at my yearly physical this morning and my nurse practitioner noted that sedentary people don’t get these types of injuries.  It hardly seems fair.  All I’m trying to do is live an active, healthy life.  Doesn’t seem like too much to ask.

I am hoping that December is better.  I am going to have to work hard to stay active because I know that it helps with the winter doldrums that creep up this time each year.  I signed me and Jaden up for the Hot Chocolate 5K in Marshfield on December 12th, so we have that to look forward to.  After that, depending on how I’m feeling, I may start looking for a couple spring races.  I’m holding out hope for a half marathon in May. 

Leave a Reply

