December month in review

Well, the weather in Wisconsin has finally gotten cold.  And we got snow.  I don’t know why I ever thought I could get through a winter here without those two things.

But, I did get to do one more race to finish out the year.  Jaden and I ran the Hot Chocolate run in Marshfield.  It is a low key race.  No bibs, a touch longer than a 5K (My phone said 3.5 miles), and we run through the lights at the park.

I had just had an injection in my piriformis a few days prior and I was encouraged not to run.  So, I slowly jogged the first quarter mile with Jaden and then I let him go to run his own race.  I mostly walked the rest of the course.  I was very proud of Jaden for going on without me and finishing strong.  Although it did pull on my heartstrings a little bit to see him go off without me.

I only managed 37 miles for the month, but like my dad always says: “that’s better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick!”  I did start going to yoga somewhat regularly.  I think I like it.  I am sore the next day, so I think it is effective.  I should probably keep doing it.

I don’t have any races on the schedule for the future, but I hope to keep plugging away on the treadmill over the winter.  We’ll see how I feel once the weather warms up.  I’m holding out hope for a spring marathon.

One thought on “December month in review

  1. Happy new year, Heather!! Here’s hoping for real progress in 2016 for you!

    Yes, it tugs on your heart to see Jaden run off…but good for him to slot in and run like that!! Good on him!!!

Leave a Reply

